About Nigeria

The Federal Republic of Nigeria covers an area of 923,768 sq. km on the shores of the Gulf of Guinea. It has Benin on its Western side, Niger on the North, Chad to the north-east and Cameroon to the east and south-east. Its November 1991 census stood at 88,514,501 and has risen above 160 million currently. It is the most populated country in Africa.

The Nigeria Profile

Common Tips

  • Full Name
    The Federal Republic of Nigeria
  • Population
    162.4 million (UN, 2011)
  • Independence
    1st October 1960
  • Area
    923,768 sq. km (356,669 sq. miles)
  • Capital
    Abuja (FCT)
  • Government
    Three-tier structure - A Federal Government, 36 State Governments, 774 Local Government Administrations
  • Major Languages
    English (official), Yoruba, Ibo, Hausa
  • Major Religions
    Christianity, Islam, indigenous beliefs
  • Main Commercial / Industrial Cities
    Lagos, Onitsha, Kano, Ibadan, Port Harcourt,
    Aba, Maiduguri, Jos, Kaduna, Warri, Benin
  • GNI per capita
    US $1,180 (World Bank, 2010)
  • Internet Domain
  • International Dialing Code

Nigeria's population is extremely diverse with well over 250 ethnic groups, some numbering fewer than 10,000 people. Ten ethnic groups including Hausa-Fulani, Yoruba, Ibo, Kanuri, Tiv, Edo, Nupe, Ibibio and Ijaw account for nearly 80% of the total population. Most of its population is concentrated in the southern part of the country, as well as in the area of dense settlement around Kano in the north. Between the two areas is a sparsely populated middle belt.

About Us